Portfolio Agencies and Statutory Office Holders

Links to the agencies and statutory offices in the Health portfolio.

Page last updated: 20 February 2019

The Department of Health pursues the achievement of the portfolio outcomes in association with a number of other agencies and statutory office holders in the portfolio.

The portfolio incorporates 17 operating portfolio agencies and five statutory office holders as at 1 July 2016.

The agencies are:
Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission
Australian Digital Health Agency
Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC)
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation Authority (AOTDTA)
Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA)
Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority (ASADA)
Australian Sports Commission (ASC)
Australian Sports Foundation (ASF)
Cancer Australia (CA)
Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ)
National Blood Authority (NBA)
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
National Health Funding Body (NHFB)
Professional Services Review (PSR)
Independent Hospital Pricing Authority (IHPA)
National Mental Health Commission (NMHC)

There are five statutory Office holders in the Health portfolio exercise independent statutory functions with administrative support from the department.

Four operating in the Department:
The Aged Care Complaints Commissioner
The Aged Care Pricing Commissioner
The Gene Technology Regulator
The Director of the National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment scheme

One operating within the National Health Funding Body, The Administrator of the National Health Funding Pool

There are five Regulators:
Australian Sports Anti-doping Authority
Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency
Office of Gene Technology Regulator
The National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme
The Therapeutic Goods Administration

Notes: All portfolio agencies are directly financially accountable to Ministers, Parliament and/or the Australian Securities and Investment Commission under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability (PGPA Act).