The Australian Government established the Medicare Benefits Schedule (MBS) Review Taskforce in mid-2015 to review more than 5,700 items on the MBS.

See our main page on the MBS Review for details of the work.

See the taskforce’s terms of reference.

Reports and recommendations

The MBS Review Taskforce delivered its final report in December 2020. Between 2015 and 2020 it delivered over 60 detailed clinical reports containing more than 1,400 recommendations.

See our collections of related reports: 

This work carries on with the MBS Continuous Review


The taskforce comprised:

  • doctors with expertise in general practice, surgery, pathology, radiology, public health and medical administration, from both the public and private health sectors
  • consumer representation
  • academics with expertise in health technology assessment.


Background and experience

Professor Bruce Robinson (Chair)

Professor Robinson is an endocrinologist. He is head of the Cancer Genetics Unit at the Kolling Institute of Medical research, Royal North Shore Hospital. He is also Chair of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).

Dr Steve Hambleton (Deputy Chair; representative of PHCAG)

Dr Hambleton was Federal President of the Australian Medical Association (AMA) from 2011 to 2014.

He is now Chair of the Primary Health Care Advisory Group (PHCAG) and the National eHealth Transition Authority. He serves on the boards of the AVANT Mutual Group and the Australasian Medical Publishing Company.

Dr Matthew Andrews (Clinical member, diagnostic imaging)

Dr Andrews is a radiologist in private practice with a special interest in ultrasound. Dr Andrews is a past President of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (RANZCR) and the Australasian Society of Ultrasound in Medicine (ASUM). He is a member of the Medical Services Advisory Committee, with a specialty in diagnostic imaging.

Professor Michael Besser (Clinical member, neurosurgery)

Professor Besser is a retired neurosurgeon, with more than 30 years at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital in Sydney. He teaches as an Associate Professor at Sydney University and as a Consultant Emeritus Neurosurgeon at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and the Children's Hospital Westmead. He was honoured with the Order of Australia (AM) in 2001 for services to medicine.

Dr Eleanor Chew (Clinical member, general practice)

Dr Chew is a specialist general practitioner and medical educator, with extensive experience representing the role of primary care in the health services profession.

Dr Chew is a past Vice President and Chair of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners, and is an experienced leader with strategic vision and a solid understanding of governance responsibilities.

Dr Michael Coglin (Clinical member, private provider)

Dr Coglin is Chief Medical Officer at Healthscope. He represents Healthscope on a number of bodies including the Private Hospital Sector Committee of the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care.

Before his current appointment he held senior posts in medical management in public hospitals in both metropolitan and regional settings in Victoria and the Northern Territory.

Professor Adam Elshaug (Health economist)

Professor Elshaug is an internationally recognised researcher and policy advisor specialising in reducing waste and optimising value in health care.

He is Professor of Health Policy, HCF Research Foundation Professorial Research Fellow, and co-Director of the Menzies Centre for Health Policy (MCHP) at the University of Sydney.

Dr Tammy Kimpton (Clinical member, general practice)

Dr Kimpton is a general practitioner who is actively involved in the Australian Indigenous Doctors Association, and a recent former President. Her interests include Indigenous health, child health, chronic disease management and mental health.

Professor Paul Glasziou (Clinical member, general practice)

Professor Glasziou is a Professor of Evidence-Based Medicine at Bond University and a part-time general practitioner. He was the Director of the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine in Oxford from 2003 to 2010. He is the author of 6 books related to evidence-based practice and has authored over 160 peer-reviewed journal articles.

Professor Michael Grigg (Clinical member, surgery)

Professor Grigg is the Monash University Professor of Surgery and the Executive Clinical Director of Surgical Services at Eastern Health. He is a vascular surgeon and a past president of the Australia and New Zealand Society of Vascular Surgery. He is also the Vice President of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons.

Dr Lee Gruner (Clinical member, medical administration)

Dr Gruner is President of the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA) and has held senior positions in both public and private health services. She has been a consultant in health services and management since 1997. She has been an educator at Monash University, for RACMA and the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards for over 20 years.

Ms Rebecca James (Consumer representative)

Ms James has worked extensively in public policy and management in government and the private sector. She is currently a member of the Medical Services Advisory Committee, as a Consumer Representative. Ms James was the CEO of Research Australia from 2007 to 2009, and currently works in global health as a consultant to Medicines for Malaria Venture.

Dr Matthew McConnell (Clinical member, public health)

Dr McConnell is a public health physician working at Country Health SA Local Health Network. He has more than 10 years diverse leadership experience as a medical professional and educator. He has been a lecturer at the University of Adelaide, involved with teaching medical students and healthcare professionals in medicine, public health and clinical practice.

Dr Bev Rowbotham (Clinical member, pathology)

Dr Rowbotham is a haematologist and Associate Professor of Pathology at the University of Queensland. She was President of the Royal College of Pathologists Australasia from 2007 to 2009. Dr Rowbotham is currently Director of Haematology and member of the board of directors at Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology.

Dr Joanna Sutherland (Clinical member, anaesthetics)

Dr Sutherland is a VMO Anaesthetist at Coffs Harbour Health Campus and a Conjoint Associate Professor with the UNSW Rural Medical School. She is an appointed member of the NSW Mid North Coast Local Health District Governing Board, a Director of the NSW North Coast Primary Health Network.

Professor Nick Talley (Clinical member, medicine)

Professor Talley is currently Pro Vice Chancellor of the Faculty of Health at the University of Newcastle, and Professor of Medicine. Professor Talley is also currently President of the Royal College of Physicians. He works at the John Hunter Hospital in New South Wales as a gastroenterologist.

Related committees and groups

The taskforce commissioned reviews from over 100 clinical committees and working groups.


Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce contact

Contact us with questions about the Medicare Benefits Schedule (MBS) Review Taskforce.

MBSReviews [at]

View contact

Last updated: 
6 October 2021