Australian Trachoma Surveillance Report 2012


Trachoma screening and management data for 2012 were provided to the National Trachoma Surveillance and Reporting Unit by the Northern Territory (NT), South Australia (SA), Western Australia (WA) and Queensland (Qld). Data were analysed by region in the NT, SA and WA, with five regions in the NT, four in SA and four in WA. Queensland screened six communities and its data was aggregated for analysis. Jurisdictional authorities had designated 204 remote Aboriginal communities as being at risk of endemic trachoma in 2012.

Page last updated: 23 December 2013

ABS—Australian Bureau of Statistics

ACCHS—Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Service

AHCSA—Aboriginal Health Council of South Australia

CDC—Centre for Disease Control, NT Department of Health

CDNA—Communicable Diseases Network Australia

CHSA—Country Health South Australia

DoHA—Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing

EH& CDSSP—Eye Health and Chronic Disease Specialist Support Program

HSAK—Healthy School‑Age Kids Program

MSOAP—Medical Specialist Outreach Assistance Program

NACCHO—National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation

NT—Northern Territory

N/R—Not Reported

NTSRU—National Trachoma Surveillance and Reporting Unit

OATSIH—Office for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health


SA—South Australia

SAFE—Surgery, antibiotics, facial cleanliness and environmental improvement

TSCRG—Trachoma Surveillance and Control Reference Group

TF—Trachomatous inflammation – follicular

TI—Trachomatous inflammation – intense

TT—Trachomatous trichiasis

UNSW—University of New South Wales

WA—Western Australia

WHO—World Health Organization