Australia Trachoma Surveillance Report 2011


Page last updated: 09 April 2013

The National Trachoma Surveillance and Control Reference Group

OATSIH Representatives

  • Alison Killen (Chair)—Assistant Secretary, Program Management and Evaluation Branch DoHA (OATSIH)
  • Rajan Martin—Director, Eye, Ear and Dental Health Section, DoHA (OATSIH)

NACCHO Representatives

  • David Scrimgeour—Public Health Medical Officer AHCSA
  • Andrew Bell—Acting Manager, Regionalisation and Development Unit AMSANT


  • Hugh Taylor— Harold Mitchell Chair of Indigenous Eye Health, Melbourne School of Population Health
  • Donna Mak—Prof & Head, Population & Preventive Health, University of Notre Dame

CDNA Representative

  • Vicki Krause—Director, Centre for Disease Control, NT Department of Health

NT Representatives

  • Lesley Nuttall—Trachoma Coordinator CDC, NT Department of Health
  • Caroline Lloyd—Trachoma Coordinator CDC, NT Department of Health

SA Representative

  • Glenise Coulthard—Director Aboriginal Health, Country Health South Australia

WA Representative

  • Kate Gatti Area—Director, Population Health, Western Australia Country Health Service

NTSRU Representatives

  • John Kaldor—Professor of Epidemiology, Public Health Interventions Research Group, The Kirby Institute, UNSW
  • Carleigh Cowling—Senior Surveillance Officer, The Kirby Institute, University of NSW

National Trachoma Surveillance and Reporting Unit

The Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales

  • John Kaldor
  • David Wilson
  • James Ward
  • Bette Liu
  • Gordana Popovic
  • Carleigh Cowling

Sydney Children’s Hospital and the National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance

  • Tom Snelling

Jurisdictional contributors to trachoma data collection

Northern Territory

  • Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services
  • Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance of the Northern Territory
  • Centre for Disease Control, Northern Territory Department of Health
  • Healthy School Age Kids Program: Top End and Central Australia

South Australia

  • Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services
  • Aboriginal Health Council of South Australia
  • Country Health South Australia

Western Australia

  • Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services
  • Communicable Diseases Control Directorate, Health Department of Western Australia
  • Goldfields Population Health Unit
  • Kimberley Population Health Unit
  • Midwest Population Health Unit
  • Pilbara Population Health Unit