This website is being decommissioned on 15 December 2014

National Seclusion and Restraint Reduction Initiatives


The National safety priorities in mental health: a national plan for reducing harm, endorsed by the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council (AHMAC) in 2005, is Australia’s first national statement about safety improvement activity in mental health.

The Plan provides leadership in four national priority areas where stakeholders agreed collectively that adverse events can be prevented, and mental health services made safer.

The four national priority areas identified for first national action are:
  • Reducing suicide and deliberate self-harm in mental health services;
  • Reducing use of, and where possible eliminating, restraint and seclusion;
  • Reducing adverse drug events in mental health services; and
  • Safe transport of people experiencing mental disorders.

Ongoing national focus on seclusion and restraint reduction

The Safety and Quality Partnership Subcommittee (SQPS) is focused on implementing the national reform agenda.
The Commonwealth Government and State and Territory Governments are committed to holding annual national forums to highlight best practice and showcase progress on the implementation of initiatives to reduce seclusion and restraint in public mental health services.

National Forums

2013 – 9th National Seclusion and Restraint Reduction Forum
Information will be available in early 2013.