Specialist Training Programme (STP)

The Specialist Training Programme (STP) provides support to enable medical specialist trainees to rotate through an expanded range of settings beyond traditional public teaching hospitals, in pursuit of becoming a fellow of a recognised specialist medical college

Page last updated: 15 December 2014


From 1 January 2010 the STP became the single Commonwealth grants support programme for specialist training.

The two main aims of this programme are to:

  • enhance workforce distribution by providing specialist registrars with training opportunities in rural areas and areas of workforce shortage; and
  • increase specialist training capacity and quality by providing educational opportunities in settings where registrars will work once they obtain Fellowship, such as private hospitals, specialists’ rooms and community health settings.

The STP is delivered through twelve (12) specialist medical colleges under funding agreements with the Department. The colleges are:

  • Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM);
  • Australasian College of Dermatologists (ACD);
  • Australasian College of Sports Physicians (ACSP);
  • Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA);
  • Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA);
  • Royal Australasian College of Physicians (RACP);
  • Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS);
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG);
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO);
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP);
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists (RANZCR); and
  • Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia (RCPA).

The number of specialist training places funded by the STP from 2010 to 2015 is:


The STP has now reached its targeted 900 training places.

The level of funding available for training posts is a salary contribution of $100,000 (ex GST) per FTE per year. Posts in rural locations may also be provided with rural loadings, of up to $20,000 (ex GST) per FTE per year.

In addition to establishing specialist training posts, the programme also provides funds for a range of support activities, including:

  • Private sector clinical supervision and training infrastructure allowance programme provides clinical supervision of up to $30,000 (ex GST) per annum and training infrastructure of up to $10,000 (ex GST) every three years for all private sector STP training posts;
  • developing system wide education and infrastructure support projects to enhance training opportunities for eligible trainees; and
  • developing support projects aimed at Specialist International Medical Graduates (SIMGs) to assist these doctors gain Fellowship in a timely and efficient manner.

The STP Operational Framework provides a history, aims and objectives, and governance of the programme as well as information on activities and earlier application rounds.

More information about the Specialist Training Programme

Discussion Paper: Review of the Specialist Training Programme

Specialist College Presidents and CEOs Contact Details

For further information about the STP, email specialist.training@health.gov.au.