Countries affected by Ebola according to the World Health Organization (WHO)

This page provides an update about countries affected by Ebola.

Page last updated: 22 January 2016

This page is updated on Thursdays.

WHO declares outbreak in West Africa over

On 14 January 2016, the WHO declared the outbreak of Ebola virus infection in West Africa over. They note that more flare-ups are expected and that strong surveillance and response systems will be critical to keeping these under control.

Source: WHO media release 14 January 2016 (

Countries with widespread transmission

  • Nil

Countries with imported cases or limited transmission

  • Sierra Leone (single deceased case reported 14 January 2016).

Countries that are no longer Ebola-affected

Countries are declared no longer Ebola-affected by the WHO when 42 days (two times the maximum incubation period) have passed since the last case tested negative or was buried.

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo (outbreak over 20 November 2014)
  • Guinea (outbreak declared over 29 December 2015)
  • Italy (outbreak over 20 July 2015)
  • Liberia (outbreak declared over 14 January 2016)
  • Mali (outbreak declared over 19 January 2015)
  • Nigeria (outbreak over 19 October 2014)
  • Senegal (outbreak over 17 October 2014)
  • Spain (outbreak declared over 3 December 2014)
  • United Kingdom (Last patient tested negative 23 January 2015, more than 42 days as of 7 March 2015)
  • United States (Last patient tested negative on 9 Nov 2014, more than 42 days as of 23 December 2014

Travellers to these countries are not currently considered to be at risk of exposure to Ebola.

Information for the Public

Information For Travellers

Information For Health Professionals

Information for GPs

Information for Humanitarian Workers

Current Situation

List of Affected Countries