Australian Medical Research Advisory Board

Page last updated: 09 November 2016

The Government established the independent Australian Medical Research Advisory Board as per the requirements of the Medical Research Future Fund Act 2015 in April 2016. The Advisory Board comprises leading experts in medical research and innovation, and health policy and commercialisation, including experience and knowledge in philanthropy, consumer issues and translating research into frontline healthcare. The Advisory Board is tasked with determining the Australian Medical Research and Innovation Strategy and related Priorities to inform Government decision making on Medical Research Future Fund disbursements.

Members of the Advisory Board

  • Chair: Professor Ian Frazer AC is a scientist and previous Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Director of Research of the Translational Research Institute. He is now Chair of the Translation Research Institute Foundation Board. Professor Frazer is President of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science and member of the Commonwealth Science Council. He is also Chairman of the Australian Cancer Research Foundation's Medical Research Advisory Committee.
  • Member: Mr Yasser El-Ansary is the Chief Executive of the Australian Private Equity and Venture Capital Association where he is responsible for leading the strategic direction of the organisation’s work in representing the private equity and venture capital industry in Australia.
  • Member: Professor Douglas Hilton AO is president of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institute, Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, and Head of the Department of Medical Biology at The University of Melbourne.
  • Member: Professor Peter Høj is Vice Chancellor and President of the University of Queensland. Before this, he was Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of South Australia; and CEO of the Australian Research Council.
  • Member: Dr Deborah Rathjen is CEO and Managing Director of the Bionomics Corporation.
  • Member: Professor Karen Reynolds is Director of the Medical Device Research Institute and the Medical Device Partnering Program, as well as Deputy Dean of the School of Computer Science, Engineering and Mathematics at Flinders University.
  • Member: Ms Jennifer Williams is the former Chief Executive of the Australian Red Cross Blood Service and is currently the Northern Health (Victoria) Board Chair.
  • Ex-Officio Member: Professor Anne Kelso AO is the CEO of the National Health and Medical Research Council.
These individuals are highly regarded public figures both within the health and medical research sector and the wider Australian community, and have been selected to ensure that the Advisory Board has the right skills and experience to deliver on the objectives of the MRFF.

Australia has such a strong track record in medical research and discoveries, and the members of the Advisory Board have all played a part in building this foundation.

The Advisory Board held its first meeting on 4 May 2016 in Canberra. The Advisory Board discussed its terms of reference, roles and responsibilities and discussed a plan of action for the consultation process. The following communiqué provides an outline of the meeting.

Australian Medical Research Advisory Board Communiqué – meeting 1

Word version: Communiqué from the Australian Medical Research Advisory Board 4 May 2016 meeting - Word 31 KB
PDF version: Communiqué from the Australian Medical Research Advisory Board 4 May 2016 meeting - PDF 89 KB