Management Structure Chart

This section outlines the Department of Health structure including the Divisions and Branches.

Page last updated: 07 July 2014

For an introduction to members of our Executive see our Executive pages.

A printable version of the Department of Health structure (PDF 253 KB) .

David Learmonth Acting Secretary

Chris Baggoley - Chief Medical Officer

Office of Health Protection

First Assistant Secretary - Kirsty Faichney (acting)
BranchAssistant Secretary
Health Protection & PolicyWill Miller (acting)
Health Emergency ManagementRob Cameron
Office of Chemical SafetyGraeme Barden
ImmunisationJulianne Quaine

Kerry Flanagan - Deputy Secretary

Health Workforce Division

First Assistant Secretary - Penny Shakespeare
Chief Nurse & Midwifery Officer - Rosemary Bryant
BranchAssistant Secretary
Training & ReformKate McCauley
Access & IncentivesGreg Lemmon (acting)

Acute Care Division

First Assistant Secretary - Janet Anderson
Principal Adviser - Charles Maskell-Knight
Principal Medical Adviser - Andrew Singer
BranchAssistant Secretary
Hospital PerformanceAnn Smith
Hospital Services Policy & PlanningGillian Shaw
Financing & AnalysisGareth Sebar
Blood, Organs & DentalPeter Woodley
Safety, Quality & ResearchJenean Spencer

Portfolio Strategies Division

First Assistant Secretary - Simon Cotterell (acting)
BranchAssistant Secretary
BudgetLinda Young
Ministerial & Parliamentary SupportCarolyn Driessen
International StrategiesDarius Everett (acting)
Policy StrategiesTarja Saastamoinen
Strategic PolicyDavid Cullen (Chief Economist)

Richard Bartlett - Deputy Secretary(acting)

Assistant Secretary - Colin Cronin

Medical Benefits Division

First Assistant Secretary - Fifine Cahill (acting)
Principal Medical Adviser - John Primrose
BranchAssistant Secretary
Medicare Financing & ListingChris Carlile
Medical Specialist ServicesMegan Keaney (acting)
Primary Care Diagnostics & Radiation OncologyRebecca Dadds (acting)
Private Health InsuranceShane Porter
Office Hearing ServicesTracey Duffy
Pharmaceutical Benefits Division
First Assistant Secretary - Paul Creech (acting)
BranchAssistant Secretary
Pharmaceutical EvaluationAdriana Platona
Pharmaceutical AccessKim Bessell
Pharmaceutical PolicyClare Starr (acting)

Office for Sport

Acting First Assistant Secretary - Jaye Smith (acting)
First Assistant Secretary - Andrew Godkin
BranchAssistant Secretary
Major Events Taskforce & Sport PolicyNarelle Smith (acting)
National Integrity of Sport UnitNatasha Cole

Mary McDonald (acting)- Deputy Secretary

Indigenous & Rural Health Division

First Assistant Secretary - Samantha Palmer
BranchAssistant Secretary
Indigenous Health ProgrammesAlison Killen
System EffectivenessMasha Somi
Rural, Remote & Indigenous AccessMeredeth Taylor

Primary & Mental Health Care Division

First Assistant Secretary - Mark Booth
BranchAssistant Secretary
Integration & Chronic DiseaseLouise Riley (acting)
Medicare Locals & Primary Health Care PolicyErica Kneipp
National Policy & Youth Mental HealthColleen Krestensen
Mental Health ServicesFiona Nicholls
Primary Care FuturesJanet Quigley

Population Health Division

First Assistant Secretary - Nathan Smyth
Principal Adviser - Rosemary Knight
Principal Medical Adviser - Bernie Towler
BranchAssistant Secretary
Healthy Living & Food PolicyChristel Leemhuis (acting)
Health in Social PolicySally Goodspeed
Cancer & Pallative CareAlice Creelman
Tobacco Control TaskforceSharon Appleyard
Drug StrategyKathy Dennis

Paul Madden - Deputy Secretary

eHealth Policy, Change & Adoption Division

First Assistant Secretary - Linda Powell
BranchAssistant Secretary
eHealth Change & AdoptionTeressa Ward
eHealth PolicyLinda Jackson
eHealth OperationsMatt Corkhill

Information Technology Division

First Assistant Secretary - Bettina Konti
BranchAssistant Secretary
IT Solutions DevelopmentPaul Stokoe
IT Support & Service DeliveryGary Aisbitt
IT Sourcing ProgramDavid Paull

Andrew Stuart - Deputy Secretary

Best Practice Regulation & Deregulation Division

First Assistant Secretary - Fay Holden (acting)
BranchAssistant Secretary
Regulatory PolicyCelia Street
DeregulationTash Ryan (acting)

People, Capability & Communication Division

First Assistant Secretary - Adam Davey
BranchAssistant Secretary
CommunicationJodie Grieve
PeopleRobert Wright
Capability & GovernanceKylie Perrin
Business Services CentreBeryl Janz

Grant Services Division

First Assistant Secretary - Sue Campion
BranchAssistant Secretary
Grant Process & PolicyLou Andreatta
Capital Grants ManagementPaul Carmody
Regional Service Grants (Incl. regional offices)Keith Tracey-Patte
National Programme GrantsBen Murray (acting)

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Chief Financial Officer - John Barbeler
BranchAssistant Secretary
FinanceCraig Boyd
Corporate & Agency SupportAvi Rebera
Agency Corporate AlignmentPeter Richards

General Counsel

General Counsel - Chris Reid
Branch[Assistant Secretary
Legal ServicesApril Purry

Therapeutic Goods Administration

John Skerritt - National Manager

Office of TGA - ANZTPA

Principal Medical Adviser - Tony Hobbs
Principal Legal Adviser - Philippa Horner
Head of Office - Cheryl McRae

Market Authorisation Group

Group Head - Trisha Garrett (acting)
OfficeOffice Head
Office of Medicines AuthorisationPeter Bird
Office of Complementary MedicinesKayla Calladine (acting)
Office of Devices AuthorisationAndrea Kunca
Office of Scientific EvaluationBill Turner

Monitoring & Compliance Group

Group Head - Larry Kelly
OfficeOffice Head
Office of Manufacturing QualityHarry Rothenfluh
Office of Laboratories & Scientific ServicesMark McDonald
Office of Product ReviewJane Cook

Regulatory Support Group

Chief Operating Officer/ Group Head - Elizabeth Flynn
OfficeOffice Head
Office of Corporate ServicesNicole McLay
Office of Information ManagementPeter Bickerton
Office of Parliamentary & Strategic SupportPio Cessarin
Office of Legal ServicesTerry Lee
Office of Change & Program ManagementJudy Develin

National Industrial Chemicals Notification & Assessment Scheme

Director - Brian Richards

Office of Gene Technology Regulator

Director - Robyn Cleland (acting)
BranchAssistant Secretary
Regulatory Practice & ComplianceRobyn Cleland
EvaluationMichael Dornbusch
Top of page

Document help

When accessing large documents (over 500 KB in size), it is recommended that the following procedure be used:

  1. Click the link with the RIGHT mouse button
  2. Choose "Save Target As.../Save Link As..." depending on your browser
  3. Select an appropriate folder on a local drive to place the downloaded file

Attempting to open large documents within the browser window (by left-clicking) may inhibit your ability to continue browsing while the document is opening and/or lead to system problems.

To view PDF (Portable Document Format) documents, you will need to have a PDF reader installed on your computer. A number of PDF readers are available through the Australian Government Information Management Office (AGIMO) Web Guide website.