Australia and New Zealand Ministerial Forum on Food Regulation (The Forum)

The Australia and New Zealand Ministerial Forum on Food Regulation (convening as the Australia and New Zealand Food Regulation Ministerial Council)

Page last updated: 04 August 2014

The Forum is primarily responsible for the development of domestic food regulatory policy and the development of policy guidelines for setting domestic food standards. The Forum also has the capacity to adopt, amend or reject standards and to request that these be reviewed.

Membership of the Forum comprises a Minister from New Zealand and the Health Ministers from Australian States and Territories, the Australian Government as well as other Ministers from related portfolios (Primary Industries, Consumer Affairs etc) where these have been nominated by their jurisdictions. This ensures a whole-of-food chain approach to food safety regulation. Each jurisdiction has a Lead Minister for voting purposes.

The Australian Government Assistant Minister for Health is the Chair of the Forum.

The Forum is required to meet face-to-face at least once in a calendar year.

The Food Regulation Secretariat, which is part of the Australian Government Department of Health, Population Health Division, provides secretariat services to the Forum and its sub committees.

The Food Regulation Standing Committee (FRSC) is a sub committee of the Forum. FRSC is responsible for coordinating policy advice to the Forum and ensuring a nationally consistent approach to the implementation and enforcement of food standards. It also advises the Forum on the initiation, review and development of FRSC activities.

Document help

When accessing large documents (over 500 KB in size), it is recommended that the following procedure be used:

  1. Click the link with the RIGHT mouse button
  2. Choose "Save Target As.../Save Link As..." depending on your browser
  3. Select an appropriate folder on a local drive to place the downloaded file

Attempting to open large documents within the browser window (by left-clicking) may inhibit your ability to continue browsing while the document is opening and/or lead to system problems.

To view PDF (Portable Document Format) documents, you will need to have a PDF reader installed on your computer. A number of PDF readers are available through the Australian Government Information Management Office (AGIMO) Web Guide website.