The Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS)

This page contains information about the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme.

Page last updated: 02 February 2016

The Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme (DIAS or the Scheme) is the accreditation scheme developed to ensure safety and quality standards for diagnostic imaging practices. DIAS was established in June 2007 through the Health Insurance Act 1973 which requires mandatory accreditation linked to the payment of Medicare benefits for diagnostic imaging services listed in the Diagnostic Imaging Services Table (DIST).

Stage I of the Scheme was introduced in July 2008, with accreditation arrangements covering practices providing diagnostic radiology services only. From 1 July 2010, Stage II of the Scheme was broadened to include practices providing non-radiology services such as cardiac ultrasound and angiography, obstetric and gynaecological ultrasound and nuclear medicine imaging services. Since July 2010, all diagnostic imaging practices intending to render any diagnostic services for the purpose of ‘Medicare benefits’ must be accredited under DIAS.

Practices that are not accredited under DIAS cannot provide Medicare funded diagnostic imaging services and must inform clients prior to carrying out these services. It is an offence under the Health Insurance Act 1973 not to notify patients that a practice is not accredited and that a Medicare benefit is not payable before providing diagnostic imaging services.

Following a review, changes have been made to the Practice Accreditation Standards for the DIAS. These changes came into effective from 1 January 2016. No new standards have been introduced. The changes have been made primarily to clarify requirements, address ambiguities and inconsistencies and to ensure alignment with the National Safety and Quality Health Services Standards produced by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care.

DIAS Practice Accreditation Standards and resources

Fact Sheets