Portfolio Agencies and Statutory Office Holders

Links to the agencies and statutory offices in the Health portfolio.

Page last updated: 29 March 2016

The Department of Health pursues the achievement of the portfolio outcomes in association with a number of other agencies and statutory office holders in the portfolio.

The portfolio incorporates 16 portfolio agencies and four statutory office holders.

The agencies are:
Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC)
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation Authority (AOTDTA)
Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA)
Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority (ASADA)
Australian Sports Commission (ASC)
Australian Sports Foundation (ASF)
Cancer Australia (CA)
Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ)
National Blood Authority (NBA)
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
National Health Funding Body (NHFB)
Professional Services Review (PSR)
Independent Hospital Pricing Authority (IHPA)
National Health Performance Authority (NHPA)
National Mental Health Commission (NMHC)

Three statutory office holders in the Health portfolio exercise independent statutory functions with administrative support from the department. The statutory office holders are:
National Health Funding Pool Administrator (NHFA)
Gene Technology Regulator (GTR)
Director, National Industrial Chemicals Notification and Assessment Scheme (NICNAS)

All portfolio agencies are directly financially accountable to Ministers, Parliament and/or the Australian Securities and Investment Commission under the Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997 (FMA Act), the Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act 1997 (CAC Act) or the Corporations Act 2001.
Top of page