Principles and Rules Committee of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce

The Principles and Rules Committee is reviewing the legislative and regulatory framework underpinning the MBS, as well as considering broader questions about the principles, objectives and boundaries shaping the MBS and its impact in practice

Page last updated: 20 October 2016

Meeting dates


The Committee has published the following reports with recommendations for public consultation.
Principles and Rules Committee Report


  • Professor Michael Grigg (Chair) - Executive Clinical Director, Surgical Services, Eastern Health Melbourne; Past President, Royal Australasian College of Surgeons; Private Practice; Member, MBS Review Taskforce
  • Dr Michael Coglin - Chief Medical Officer, Healthscope Limited; Member, MBS Review Taskforce
  • Dr Matthew McConnell - Public Health Physician, Country Health SA Local Health Network; Member, MBS Review Taskforce
  • Dr Eleanor Chew - General Practitioner; Member, Queensland Faculty Board, Royal Australian College of General Practitioners
  • Associate Professor Ken Sikaris - Pathologist, Sonic Healthcare; Associate Professor, Department of Pathology, Melbourne University
  • Associate Professor Alex Hunyor - Vitreoretinal Surgeon, Sydney Eye Hospital; Chair, Medicare Advisory Committee, Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists
  • Dr Penny Browne - General Practitioner; Senior Medical Officer, Avant
  • Mr Michael Jones - Diagnostic Radiologist; Chairman, Diagnostic Economic Committee, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists
  • Dr Gerard Ingham - General Practitioner; Deputy Director, Professional Services Review
  • Ms Debra Kay - Consumer Representative Top of page

Meeting dates

  • 4 November 2015
  • 30 November 2015
  • 8 February 2016
  • 23 March 2016
  • 26 April 2016
  • 20 June 2016
  • 8 August 2016
  • 26 September 2016
  • 24 October 2016
  • 28 November 2016