Colorectal Surgery Clinical Committee of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce

Information about the Colorectal Surgery Clinical Committee – MBS item range, membership and meeting dates.

Page last updated: 25 June 2018

MBS item range
Meeting dates

MBS item range

Total – 84 MBS Items
Category 3 – Therapeutic Procedures

  • Subgroup 2 – Colorectal
    32000 – 32221 (84 items)


  • Associate Professor Andrew Stevenson (Chair) – Head of Colorectal Surgery, Royal Brisbane Hospital; Colorectal Surgeon at Holy Spirit Northside Hospital; Associate Professor of Colorectal Surgery at University of Queensland
  • Associate Professor Chris Byrne – Colorectal Surgeon at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, The Mater Hospital, North Sydney and Sydney Day Surgery, Clinical Associate Professor at The University of Sydney School of Medicine
  • Dr Elizabeth Murphy – Colorectal Surgeon at Calvary North Adelaide Hospital, Calvary Central Districts Hospital and Ashford Hospital, Head of Colorectal Unit at Lyell McEwin Hospital
  • Associate Professor Margaret Schnitzler – Colorectal Surgeon, Royal North Shore Hospital, North Shore Private Hospital, Mater Misericordiae Hospital, Associate Professor at University of Sydney
  • Professor Alexander Heriot – Colorectal Surgeon at Epworth Freemasons Clarendon Street Hospital and Epworth Richmond Hospital, Clinical Director: Cancer Surgery Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Clinical Professorial Fellow at The University of Melbourne, Chairman of the Research Support Committee CSSANZ
  • Dr Michael Warner – Colorectal Surgeon at Hollywood Private Hospital
  • Dr Vida Viliunas – Anaesthetist, Lecturer for Australian National University Medical School
  • Professor Paul Pavli – Gastroenterologist, Staff Specialist – Gastroenterology Unit Canberra Hospital
  • Ms Sarah O’Shannassy – Colorectal Nurse and Advanced GI Surgical Program Manager at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
  • Dr Nuwan Dharmaratne – General Practitioner
  • Professor Michael Besser – Neurosurgeon, Taskforce ex-officio
  • Ms Rebecca James – Taskforce ex-officio
  • Ms Geraldine Robertson – Consumer representative; Consumer representative for Breast Cancer Network Australia and the Consumers Health Forum
  • Ms Alison Marcus – Consumer representative

Meeting dates

  • 30 May 2018
  • 2 July 2018